FL Superdelegates– PA Changes No Minds

In the wake of Hillary Clinton’s 10-point win in Pennsylvania, I talked with 4 of 5 of our local undecided super-delegates, who look more and more like kingmakers as the tight Democratic nominating contest plays out.  Their comments, with some editing (in parentheses):

St Sen. Steve Geller- Cooper City- originally a supporter of Sen. John Edwards–

“I’m leaning toward Hillary for two reasons.  I want to support whoever will do the most to seat Florida’s delegation (to the Democratic convention), and so far, that’s her.  (Above all else) I care about one thing– who can beat John McCain?

I’m going to wait and see some polls (before making a final decision).  In Florida, the polling shows if Hilary is the nominee, Florida’s competitive.  If it’s Obama, it’s not competitive

(But the focus is nationwide).  Show me an electoral map supported by polls, over who’s stronger.  Shw me a road map to 271 electoral votes.  There’s probably only 10 swing states.  Show me polling in those ten states, I’d be in better position to say what I’m going to do.

Pennsylvania absolutely strengthened her case (as to electability).  For any genuinely undecided superdelegate, it had to strengthen her case.  If she’d lost, she would have had to drop out.

(While leaning to Clinton now), I don’t want a kamikaze mission.  If it’s clear she’s lost (the nomination battle), she should drop out.”

Diane Glasser, Tamarac- Broward’s State Committeewoman–

“I still haven’t made up my mind.  I’m going to wait until June, until it all runs itself, with all the primaries.

I want to see who’s standing up for the party in the long-term, not just the short-term.  The negativity is what’s bothering me.  They’ve both had their share (in negative campaigning).  I want to see how damaging they’re going to be to (each other).

Mitch Ceasar, Plantation– Broward Party Chair, member of Dem Natl. Comte.–

“My headline is– the saga continues.  I hope it’s not a soap opera, with the final act coming at the convention.  I think most superdelegates will make up their mind in June. My concerns about negative campaigning were heightened during Pennsylvania.

I’m looking ahead now to Indiana, for a couple of reasons.  Unlike Pennsylvania, it’s not a perceptions game (PA was widely assumed to be Clinton territory, so all the post-primary spin is about the margin of victory).  Indiana’s a tight contest.  I’ll be looking at the exit-polling there, as to who won and why.

St. Rep. Dan Gelber — Miami Beach–

“Did you see the movie Groundhog Day?  This is becoming a little like that.  We have a primary, somebody wins, and it’s an inkblot.  It literally becomes a spin zone, and it’s a gosh-awful way to run a primary. 

My hope is, this thing is over soon.  II’ve been thinking I probably need to decide soon, to move this thing along.  I’m up here in session.  I was thinking I’d do it at some point shortly after session ends (in ten days or so).

A lot of what we see now as negative (atmosphere between the rival camps) is just an energized party.  Once we settle on a nominee, we’ll coalesce.  Overnight, people are going to move, to be ready to bear down on November.” 

U.S. Congressman Ron Klein– Broward/Palm Beach–

His office said he had no time to discuss the PA results today, that he remains undecided, and still holds the opinion he expressed earlier to the Miami Herald– ”The general theory is that you don’t upend the popular vote, but I don’t see any hard lines.”  (according to RealClearPolitics.com, Obama leads the popular vote by about 500,000 votes if you don’t count disputed primaries in FL & Michigan… by about 205,000 if you count Florida’s results, where all candidates were on the ballot… and Clinton leads by about 120,000 if you include Michigan, where she was the only candidate on the ballot).

3 Responses

  1. Yep, that’s Klein, all right–waiting until he’s forced into a position, rather than identifying the right thing to do and then doing it. That was his MO in Tallahassee and he hasn’t changed. I guess that’s how he defines leadership.

  2. Dear Nick Bogert:
    I got an interesting “pingback” on MY blog (www.weeklywilson.com) which was MY article, written originally for http://www.associatedcontent.com, where I blogged “live” all night, but reprinted on my weeklywilson blog, but the pingback said, “Nick Bogert wrote an interesting article” and continued with MY article’s words. So….I’m just wondering….did you reprint my article or what? If so, I hope you gave attribution. It was posted on 3:37 a.m. and I (literally) worked from 2 p.m. on April 22 until 7 a.m. the day after the Pennsylvania Primary, putting together those observations. It would be nice to see them properly attributed, if they were used, at all. Can you enlighten me?
    You might also enjoy a peek at the Charlie Crist article I wrote on my blog (and for AC.)
    Sincerely,

    Connie (Corcoran) Wilson, M.S.
    CEO, Quad Cities’ Learning, Inc.
    http://www.weeklywilson.com

  3. The superdelegates must respect the Florida voters – Hillary Clinton!

Leave a Reply

